The Judging Process

Judging process

Independent experts from Deloitte will assess all applications, and together with Westpac representatives, will select the 200 Businesses of Tomorrow based on the application criteria.

From the group of 200, the Judging Panel will select the Top 20 Businesses of Tomorrow. This is based on their ability to not only demonstrate their vision through the application criteria, they will also be seen to have greater potential to help tomorrow’s customers, economy and society.

The panel

Panel member
David Lindberg Chief Executive, Business Bank, Westpac Group ❯ Read more
Close ❌

David Lindberg

Chief Executive, Business Bank, Westpac Group

David was appointed Chief Executive, Business Bank in June 2015. He manages the Group’s end to end relationships with business customers for the Westpac, St.George, BankSA and Bank of Melbourne brands. The Business Bank provides a wide range of banking and financial products and services to Australia’s small, commercial, corporate and agri businesses.

Prior to this appointment, David was Chief Product Officer for the Group's retail and business products across all brands, as well as overseeing the Group's digital activities. Before joining Westpac in 2012, David was Executive General Manager, Cards, Payments & Retail Strategy at the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. David was also formerly Managing Director, Strategy, Marketing & Customer Segmentation at Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited and Managing Vice President and Head of Australia for First Manhattan.

Panel member
Lyn Cobley Chief Executive, Westpac Institutional Bank ❯ Read more
Close ❌

Lyn Cobley

Chief Executive, Westpac Institutional Bank

Panel member
Alison Deans Director, Westpac Group, Cochlear, kikki.K Holdings ❯ Read more
Close ❌

Alison Deans

Director, Westpac Group, Cochlear, kikki.K Holdings

Alison has more than 20 years’ experience in senior management and strategy consulting roles focussed on e-commerce, media and financial services in Australia. During this time, Alison held a number of senior executive roles including as the CEO of eCorp Limited, Hoyts Cinemas and eBay, Australia and New Zealand. Most recently, she was the CEO of the technology-based investment company netus Pty Ltd, which was acquired by Fairfax Media Limited in 2012. Alison was a Director of Insurance Australia Group Limited from February 2013 to October 2017 and an Independent Director of Social Ventures Australia from September 2007 to April 2013.

Panel member
Simon Cant Co-Founder and Managing Director, Reinventure Group ❯ Read more
Close ❌

Simon Cant

Co-Founder and Managing Director, Reinventure Group

Simon Cant is a Co-Founder and Managing Director Reinventure Group. Simon has spent his career working on innovation, both through venture and corporate innovation.

As an innovation specialist at CANTT Associates and before that? WhatIf! Innovation, with a focus on disruptive innovation, he advised clients such Tennis Australia, UBS, NAB, Suncorp, AMP, Fairfax, News Limited and APN News & Media and Transport for NSW. Prior to that he worked with entrepreneurs, in both commercial start-up’s, at TiNSHED Angel Group and social ventures at Social Ventures Australia.

Panel member
Tim Fung CEO & Co-founder, Airtasker ❯ Read more
Close ❌

Tim Fung

CEO & Co-founder, Airtasker

Tim is CEO and co-founder of Airtasker - a trusted community marketplace for people and businesses to outsource tasks, find local services or hire flexible staff in minutes - online or via mobile. Tim is also a founder and director of Tank Stream Labs – a co-working space and entrepreneurial community located in the heart of Sydney CBD.

Prior to starting Airtasker, Tim was a founding team member and investor in mobile startup amaysim, playing a key role in strategy and capital raising. He is a founder and director of several web startups, including online custom shirt design business Joe Button, and motorsport event management group Circuit Club.

Panel member
Prof. Ian Harper Dean, Melbourne Business School ❯ Read more
Close ❌

Prof. Ian Harper

Dean, Melbourne Business School

Ian Harper is Dean and Director of the Melbourne Business School and Co-Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne. He is also a member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia.

Ian is a professional economist best known for his work in public policy.  During his 35-year career, he has worked with governments, banks, corporates and leading professional services firms at the highest level.

Ian was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia in 2000 and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2009. In 2016 he was elected a Distinguished Public Policy Fellow of the Economic Society of Australia and received a Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award from the University of Queensland.

Key program dates

11 Feb 2018
2018 online application open.
8 Apr 2018
Application close midnight AEST, Deloitte begin assessing applications.
16 May 2018
Judging panel selects winning businesses.
By July 2018
Winners notified.
July 2018
Winners announced.

I’m so glad we applied. The diversity of the companies and level of access to people we’ve been exposed to has just been amazing.

Vikram Sharma, Founder & CEO, Quintessence Labs 2017 Business of Tomorrow winner

Applications have now closed for the 2018 program.

Applications for the 2018 Westpac Businesses of Tomorrow program have now closed. Winners will be announced in June 2018, come back soon to hear more about the program.